The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

Can I say, I LOVE Maureen Johnson. YES!! Yes, I do.

I remember when I first finished 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I couldn’t believe, at the time, that there wasn’t going to be a sequel. I loved the first book so much, I just had to know what would happen next.

Thank you…thank you…thank you! For deciding on finishing the series and for making my reading dreams come true!! I needed to know. It was like someone telling you they know something about you, but then won’t tell you what it is. They tell you that you’ll find out eventually.

And Ms. Johnson did not disappoint here either. Can I say that guys are jerks? I mean, come on. I know you can’t make someone like you, but at least have the common curtesy to tell the girl you found someone else!! I mean…jeesh! It may hurt, but she’ll get over it!

Sorry for the little rant there.

Ginny is one of my fav characters. I feel like we connect, because even though I would love to tell people off, yet I take the high road( the run-me-over road) and don’t say a word, act nice and let people get by with waaaay too much.  Unlike Ginny, I don’t know that I could travel all over Europe by myself following some letters. It takes a brave soul to wander around almost aimlessly in a foreign place. Maybe I should take a hint from her? Too bad I don’t have any rich relatives!!

This time around she finds herself back in Europe. Someone has found her stolen backpack!! In return for her bag and the lost envelopes, the stranger wants in on the action!!  Not only does the stranger want part of the proceeds, he will not actually give Ginny the last little blue envelope until they have done everything that her aunt has told her she must do.

Not only does Ginny find her last envelope, she finds more of herself and even love.  And it’s awesome!!

Why can’t everyone have a happy-novel-ending?

(Awesome side note)

Next week at our local libraries, Maureen Johnson will be speaking!!  Here’s a link for where she’ll be and when!!

Leave a Reply

