Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

The graphic novel!! Heck yes, is what I say to this.

How many times have you told yourself that you want to read all those classics, but they just seem too long and boring? Or maybe you have so many modern books to read you just never get to the classics? I have found the ultimate solution. Or well…Marvel has at least.

Marvel comics have come out with a series of classic graphic novels. Working at a library, I saw Pride & Prejudice come in and grabbed it up as soon as it was ready to go out on the shelves. I have been wanting to read this and many classics for so long…and it only took me two days (only on breaks) to read it. I know I don’t get all the details, but I get the main points and that’s all I really wanted.

I can now say, I know what Pride and Prejudice is about. And maybe even make references to it! It’s about time, being an English major and all. Ha! I’m excited to look forward to other classic graphic novels!!

Well, if you don’t know the story…and because it’s not really a secret. Here is the main jist of it. There’s this family, The Bennetts, that have a bagillion daughters that they want to marry off. Lizzy and Jane are the two main daughters of the story. A man, Mr. Bingley, comes into town and takes fancy to Jane. With him is a Mr. Darcy, whom we all should have at least heard of, who doesn’t seem to like any of the Bennett daughters. One thing leads to another, Darcy likes Lizzy, Lizzy thinks Darcy is a bad man…Lizzy finds out Darcy is actually a nice man, Lizzy falls in love with Darcy, but doesn’t think she’ll ever see him again. They see each other again and finally tell each other how they feel..and are wed. The end. Love story of the century. Ahhh…if only it were that easy.

Leave a Reply

