Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

I have been waiting for this book to come out for more than a year! And believe me, it did not disappoint! It took me a little longer than I wanted, but I went on vacation to Germany (yay!) and didn’t want to take my library book with me in case I lost it.

I could get lost in Maggie Stiefvater’s worlds. In this sequel, we get the perspective of not only Grace and Sam, but also Isabel and the newest character Cole.

Let me just say that Cole sounds freaking hot.  Cole comes into the story as a troubled, druggie  musician that wants to forget his human nature. Unfortunately for him, by becoming a wolf he becomes more and more human after every shift.

Grace and Sam are once again trying to figure out how to manage their relationship. At first, things are going great, Sam and Grace are spending all their time together. Almost enough to make up for all the time Sam spent as a wolf. Unfortunately for them, this precious time is interrupted when Grace’s parents decided to be actual parents and find Sam sleeping in Grace’s bed.

Grace is going through some changes. She becomes deathly ill and no one knows how to cure her. She has high fevers, terrible shakes and smells like dead wolf.

Sam has now taken over Beck’s duties as leader of the wolves when they are human. Reluctantly, Sam tries to accept Cole into the pack. Sam has no regrets being human and tries desperately to save Grace.

One of the things that I love and hate about Maggie Stiefvater’s books is that you never know if the ending will turn out happy or real. I love the fact that I can count on something real happening, but hate it when it does. Some times you just want to have that happily ever after, but like life that doesn’t always work out.

Leave a Reply

