The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De La Cruz

This is the 4th book in the series…and it was disappointing…in the beginning. I don’t know why, but lately the first halves of books have been really hard to get through. I guess I may be a little tired of all the back story and want more action!! Maybe I’m reading the wrong books…or in the wrong genre. But YA has never done me wrong before!! Come on people, get your act together! Haha

So, in this installment, we get the viewpoint from not only Schulyer, Bliss, and Mimi. I liked this…Every person/character has their own perspective and we don’t always get to see that in books. It’s nice to see different sides to the “bitch” character and the “sweet” character. They aren’t just one dimensional.

Saying that, gosh I would hate to have been Bliss in this series. No way in the world would I want to have voices and demons living inside of me! Not just demons either, but Lucifer himself! No thank you. I can do bad things on my own, I don’t need any help.

One thing I thought was a little too contrite was the fact that Schulyer and Jack get to be together in the end. Sorry people for that spoiler…but WTH? Life isn’t always a happy ending and sometimes I think books should go way too. The only thing that I have to say against that idea is that the lives of the Blue Bloods was turning upside and so much bad was already going on, that at least one good thing happened. I guess I may be torn on that subject, but it was still a little too obvious.

I did enjoy the part about Jordan though!! I won’t say too much about this part. Can’t spoil the whole book for people! But it was good. I wasn’t really expecting that.

All in All…waiting patiently for the next in the series. I love all the mythology about the Angels. Makes me want to go out and study them. I don’t really know what all the angels are and what they represent. Hmmmm…maybe a side project for me…

Leave a Reply

