The Maze of Bones: the 39 Clues by Rick Riordan

I wasn’t going to do it…but I went out and bought the book anyway. I’m obsessed with finding the clues and I just had to read the book. I read it in a couple of hours…that should tell you something.

The Cahill family is said to be the greatest family in the history of the world. Those that know about this are split into four different Cahill groups. The names are Lucian, Tomas, Janus, and Ekaterina. The family has a secret and it’s a dangerous one.

40 members of the Cahill family are invited to Grace Cahill’s Will reading. William McIntyre is Grace’s attorney(…) and gives the family a choice. Either take the inheritance money found under their seats, $1,000,000.00 or choose to forfeit that money and go on a quest for the Cahill family secret. The quest is dangerous, filled with clues, and only one person/team will win.

The Teams:

Dan and Amy Cahill lost their parents when they were really young. Dan, 11, and Amy, 14, have had to live with their Aunt Beatrice. Aunt Beatrice gives them enough money to just make it by and they are considered the poor side of the family.

Alistair Ohis the oldest in the game. He knows more than any of the others and is willing to team up with any of the others just to get further ahead. He’s tricky old man.

Ian and Natalie Kabra make up another team. They represent the rich and English side of the Cahills. They are arrogant and nasty. They will kill, maim, and dismember to get what they want. They forge alliances at random, but that doesn’t make them trustworthy.

The Holts are a family of braggarts. They all look like they should be gladiators. They are coordinated like a team, Dad acts as coach and the family follows all orders. They are a tricky bunch and their favorite color is purple.

Irina Spasky makes up one of the most dangerous teams. Ex-KGB member and known killer. She will do anything to get what she wants and the 39 clues are what she wants. Poisoned fingernails are just a sample of the viciousness arsenal she packs. Known to be a Lucian.

Jonah Wizard is the resident star. He has a finger in every market. Started as a reality t.v. star on Who Wants to be a Gangsta? and now does movies, music, and even books.

These are the players. But only one will win. In this book, we follow Dan and Amy Cahill, Grace’s favorite family members. Dan and Amy are the two least likeliest people to be up for an action packed adventure. They could really use the money, but they are tired of being the laughingstocks of the family.

Danger, near-death experiences, riddles, and fake allegiances pack this book with more drama than an episode of The Hills. Who will make it out alive? Who will win the mysterious clues to become one of the most influential and powerful person in the world today?

I really enjoyed reading this. I didn’t want to put it down. I just had to know how it ended and what the first clue was. Unfortunately I had been playing the online game before I read the book and knew the answer before I started reading. But that’s o.k.

If I were the right age for this…teen…then I would be in love. As it is, I’m 25 and in love, but I can’t win any of the prizes. So…all you teens out there…I have the first clue and if you need help solving any of the cards, I’m your woman. TRUST ME

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Book Dweeb
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 14:50:56

    I’m 26, and I love 39 Clues too!!! I think we should make our own contest 🙂

  2. GCahill
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:10:40

    I need help with the clue where you cut out the papers from the spy Reilly’s cell. I got James Cahill is ____ + Lucian.

    Can’t figue the last word.

  3. kawzmikgirl
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 14:58:57

    I remember this one…it was freaking hard. The missing word is “not”. It should say James Cahill is not a lucian.

  4. luv 39 clues
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 17:17:09

    do you have any cheat codes for me

  5. kawzmikgirl
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 07:24:33

    Depends on what you want…I’d have to go back and look at them. Ask me any of the clues and I’ll see what I can do.

  6. 39cluesfan
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 18:55:14

    you know how THE GAME on the online website start out with 3 missions, then what if I finish, what do I do next?

  7. kawzmikgirl
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 19:18:04

    I wish I had an answer for you. I haven’t actually been going onto the website these past few months. I will take a look and see what I can come up with though. I need to get back into that anyway…;)

  8. alexandra
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 18:58:57

    i love the 39 clues book.im obsessed with all the characters and authors.i am always wanting to read more and never stop.i think its a great topic and adventure.i would like to see pics of all the characters but besides that i get a great picture in my head.i love reading this book and i have a image of each scene from the book in my mind and have a feeling of how each character should be played.i love how there are different feelings,stages,and emotions in the book.keep up the good ideas and work and know that im the 39 clues biggest fan and will always be ready for more.

  9. Karliegh.
    May 01, 2009 @ 22:20:31

    I JUST got the book today, i have to say. Im impressed, and obsessed.
    Amazing book, awesome website(:

  10. kawzmikgirl
    May 02, 2009 @ 01:06:47

    Awesome!!! I’m in the middle of reading the second one…I can’t for the life of me remember the name…it’s kinda late right now…after one in the morning…I read the first one in a day. I’m not as obsessed as I was at first, but I’m starting to get back into it.

    Thanks for stopping by though!!

  11. TBismonte
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 11:03:13

    Oh My God!!! I am on Mission 0 and cant master the freaking Annie Oakley game to get the clue!!!! help!!! What are the codes!!!!

  12. 26DazzleMe26
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 17:06:37

    What is the answer to mission four. Where did Natalie and Ian go after Kyrgyzstan?? plez someone help me i need help really bad!!!!

  13. kawzmikgirl
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 21:19:01

    I wish I knew, but I haven’t played in a long time. I hate to admit it, but I haven’t even read the second book yet!!! I’m a little behind…. Come on people! What’s the answer!?!

  14. jack bob mc joe
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 15:22:46

    hi partner howdey

  15. jack bob mc joe
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 15:23:43

    i am a nerd and loves math

  16. Courtny
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 07:36:16

    I am right there with you I couldn’t get that game until I really really tried.

  17. Courtny
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 07:37:44

    Just keep trying and you will get it.

  18. 39 clues lover
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 17:54:48

    im stumped i cant figure out the answer for where did natilie and ian go after krgastyan

  19. 39 clues lover
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 17:55:26

    its hard

  20. Neat Comet
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:25:20

    I read all the 39 clues books! I LOVE these books! Some of the 39 Clues books are REALLY funny! Also, I’m a (good) Lucian! 😉

  21. Neat Comet
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:26:13

    Well, I mean that I help the Madrigals! 😆

Leave a Reply

