Aurelia by Anne Osterlund

Something I don’t really let people in on, but I guess I’ll tell everyone now, is that I like a good European Royalty story. I don’t really like the non fiction stuff. But if I were to be reading non fiction that would most likely what I would be reading about. But anyway, I really like the idea of princesses and princes and all that stuff from back in the day. I don’t think I would want to live then, it just interests me. And that’s what got me interested in this story. I’m glad that I picked it up.

Aurelia is the only heir to the throne of Tyralt. Or so she believes. Her father, the king, is still alive and wants to make her the best Queen that he thinks she should be. When there have been assassination  attempts on Aurelia’s life,  he  fears that she will  freak out and doesn’t want her to worry and decides that she is better off not knowing about them. He hires his former royal spy, but what he doesn’t expect his for the spy to refuse to come. Instead the son of the former spy, and former classmate of Aurelia, takes the case.

We are lead to believe that Robert, the son of the former spy, is only there to find the assassin. We know that there are some personal reasons, but are not told what they are. Well, ladies and gentleman, it’s not that hard to figure out. He’s got a crush on the princess. Duh…. Well, it gets interesting when there are plenty of assassination attempts on her life and no one with the ability to make all those attempts. There are more than a few people in on the plot and Robert the amateur spy has to find out how to make these people slip up and catch them.

I don’t know that I make this book sound as awesome as it was. Yes, it was kind of obvious who was who and all that, but that wasn’t the main focus of the book. Not only was it about finding out who was trying to kill the Princess, but also about the characters finding out who they are and how to handle that. They learn to accept their choices and their lives and do something about it. Plus there was some romance thrown in that is always a plus, yes people I like a little romance.

I think anyone who likes history or princessy tales would love this. Yes, I just made up a word. I’m cool like that. Oh and a lot of talk about horses. Horsey loves would like this too!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Book Dweeb
    Jul 13, 2008 @ 21:53:07

    Well, I could probably do without all of the “princessy” stuff, but spies and assassination attempts sound pretty cool 🙂

  2. Anne Osterlund
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 01:41:36

    I’m thrilled that you liked AURELIA! Thank you so much for posting your review! I hope lots of people enjoy it because Aurelia, Robert, and I are currently meandering through a draft of book two, and Aurelia has very high expectations for her story.

    Anne Osterlund

    AURELIA–PENGUIN BOOKS
    http://www.anneosterlund.com

  3. Demi
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 19:10:56

    OMG! i just read that book and its so good. its not all that Pirncessy, although its ABOUT a princess. I love the surpirse ending. I hope theres a second!

Leave a Reply

