Marked by PC and Kristin Cast

I have to say that I’ve been reading the books that have been sitting around my house lately and all I can wonder is what took me so long to actually pick up these books? This is the second book I’ve picked up that I have completely fell in love with and can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. Luckily, I don’t have to wait long, because the next two in the series is already written and out there waiting for me to pick them up! And believe me, I’m getting them as fast as I can. I want to know what happens!

Ok, so on with the actual book and not my reaction to it!

I loved the fact that the setting takes place in Oklahoma. Yes, that’s where I am. I would rather it be set in the OKC area instead of the Broken Arrow/Tulsa area, but heck there aren’t that many books out there that even recognize that Oklahoma is in the 21st century. And here’s a book that not only takes place in Oklahoma, but is centered around vampires and a society where vampires are “marked” by a goddess and then taken to a school to learn all about vampyrism.

Zoey has the best life. She’s on/off dating the high school quarterback and has a great best friend. Everything is going pretty good, but she feels like there is something missing. She doesn’t really want to be with her boyfriend anymore and her best friend is getting on her nerves. And then BAM! She walks to her locker after school and there waiting for her is a vampyr tracker. He locks on her and “marks” her with the cresent tattoo that symbolizes the goddess Nyx. This immediately upsets her best friend and she runs away.

Zoey realizes that her life will never be the same again. She goes home to ask her mom what they can do, but is received with shock and humilation from her mom. Her stepdad decides to pray for her and thinks that she is an abomination. She escapes her house and flees to find her Grandmother who is the only one that has ever understood her.

She arrives at her Grandmother’s house and finds a note telling her that she is in the fields surrounding the house. Her grandmother owns land that grows lavender flowers/plants. On her way up the trail to her grandmother she looses her balance and hits her head. Zoey then has an out of body experience that has her meet the goddess Nyx in spiritual form. The goddess places a kiss on her forhead where the “mark” is located and tells her that she is special.

Zoey ends up at The House of Night, the vampyr school. Her grandmother had found her and knew right off what she was becoming and where to take her. Here, Zoey has to face the challenges of becoming vampyr, her new enemy Ambrosia, and her new powers that could make her the most powerful High Priestess of Nyx ever in vampyr history.

Read this book! It is awesome!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Book Dweeb
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 14:06:41

    Wow, it sounds great. It’s always a good thing when people can associate something with Oklahoma other than cowboys and tornadoes. I will definitely check this one out.

  2. P. C. Cast
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 21:24:28

    Glad you liked MARKED! BETRAYED and CHOSEN are even better, promise. And check out the series website: http://www.houseofnightseries.com.

    Happy reading,
    PC

  3. Book Dweeb
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 10:13:22

    Cool! PC Cast is commenting on your blog!

    Oh, and since we’re into leaving totally random comments on e/o’s blogs, guess what? I got my first book to review from School Library Journal 🙂 Can you believe it?

  4. Keely Johnson
    Jul 13, 2008 @ 20:02:02

    i absolutely LOVED all three of them. ugh… i was so dissappointed that she didn’t end up with erik night! he’s like my dream guy. i feel like such a dork for saying that about a fictional character but it’s true. i would have to say that chapter 19 in betrayed is my favorite chapter in the whole series when erik returns from new york and recites his monologue to zoey on stage! it’s so romantic and i’ve read that chapter over and over and over again! it just makes my heart twist (in a good way) every time i read it! i think i’ll go read it again! thanks for the great read!

  5. ashley
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 00:23:15

    I have to admit I am totally into the whole supernatural thing and it takes a lot for a book to get me interested, but this is one of the best series I have read in a while. It is nice to read something that doesn’t paint vampirism as something “evil”.Don’t give up keely, there is still another book!! (and hopefully a couple more after that!?!?!?) I actually hoped she would end up with heath!!! He was so sweet and he changed his whole life for her. But in the end she probably will end up with erik.

  6. Laurel
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 16:15:40

    I grew up near Tulsa and Broken Arrow. My best friend was born in Henrietta and I met her very similar to how Zoey met Stevie Rae. After reading a lot of Vamp books I really like how you incorrporated magick and vampyrism. I very much lookig forward to the fourth adventure in House of Night Series.

  7. Meranda
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 17:26:58

    I have read the first three books of the series. I love them all, Both the writers do great at what they do, They are able to capture the different personallites very well and makes it easier to relate to the characters. But i can’t wait for the next book!

  8. Leslie
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 13:07:08

    I LOVED!!!! these books. and if you havent read the 4th one already, I strongly urge you too. it is wonderful. I wont talk about it because i dont want to spoil it but its great. I cannot wait for the 5th one to come out in March 2009. its driving me insane and im rereading all the books Ive read Marked about 3 times and am waiting to get the other 3 back so I can read them… again. My absolute favorite part of them all was when Zoey discovered she had an affinity for all 5 elements. I also like the it when her friends discover they have affinities for their elements. and the little times when Nyx whispers words of wisdom and comfort to Zoey. Oh, hell, I just plain loved the books..

Leave a Reply

