Avalon High Coronation V. 1: The Merlin Prophecy by Meg Cabot

This is my first graphic young adult novel. I have to say that this type of book really isn’t mine thing, but I wanted to try these out. I know manga and graphic novels are really big now, and I wanted to see what all the hype was about. I really like Meg Cabot’s work so I thought this was a good starting place.

Having said all that, I was a little disappointed in it. The thing that had me disappointed was the fact that it was so small and such a quick read. I wanted more of the story and even though there were pictures that went along, I felt like it was just a teaser.

I will most likely get the next one in the series from the library too. Just so that I can see what happens next. I guess having me even want to read on makes it a good book. I also like King Arthur mythology and I liked this graphic novel because it is set in modern times.

I would definitely recommend this to graphic novel lovers, but not to readers that are just finding Meg Cabot. Her other series are a lot better.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Funky Librarian
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 13:18:20

    I am just now getting into graphic novels, too, and I agree that for people who are used to reading old school novels, it’s hard to get into them at first. I still find myself wanting more substance when I finish most manga/graphic novels. Two notable exceptions have been Shaun Tan’s The Arrival and Sara Varon’s Robot Dreams.

Leave a Reply

