Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz

I really like Stolarz’s writing style. I’m one of those people that write like I talk and that’s what I get into. Not that I’m saying that’s the way to write. It’s just something that I do so I relate to that more.

Anyway…

I really like how she knows how to get you with these horror/scary stories. A lot of the times when I read scary stories I’m not impressed. I don’t get scared easily. I’ve been watching/reading scary stories all my life and it takes a lot to scare me now. Not that this book scared me. It didn’t, but it did give me goosebumps. It was very well written. You are taken into the characters heads and feel how scared they are and the creepiness of where they are. It’s exciting to know that someone can take you from your bed (or wherever you’re reading) and transport you into another character’s mind and creep you out right along with them.

I don’t really have much of a summary for this book. It basically speaks for itself. There’s Derik, a wannabe film maker who gets a group of kids together to film a “blair witch” type project in an abandoned mental institute. Each chapter is from a different character’s point of view and you get different stories of why they’re there and what happens to them while they’re in the hospital. It’s freaky just thinking about being in a building like this one. Can you imagine spending the night in any kind of abandoned hospital that still has the personal affects of its patients left all around? Creepy.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Book Dweeb
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 16:15:18

    I loved Blue is for Nightmares! And I agree that she has a really believable voice.

Leave a Reply

