Lover Unbound by JR Ward

Another review from the old blog.

Ok, so here we are again. I thought my next book to read would be Sex and the Single Vampire by Katie MacAlister, but I was wrong. I get a lot of my books from the library and I tend to read the ones that are on reserve first, rather than the one’s that I get first. I can’t really remember all the books I have out now, so I don’t know what my next book will be. But on with the review!

I just finished this book and it wasn’t the greatest out the series, but it was worth the read. So, with that let me tell you what I liked and disliked about the book. I loved the fact that there was so much more about the history of the Brotherhood in this one. It wasn’t all about the sex. Of course that was in there, but we got to know a lot more about the history of vampires and the rituals and things like that. We also got a look into the Scribe Virgin and how everything got started…as in the world not the books. That was pretty cool. I like hearing different versions of the creation. On the downside…I didn’t like the turn of events with V and Jane. It just seemed to me that V had already gone through so much in his life that losing Jane was too much. Not that I was looking for the happily ever after part ( O.K. maybe I was), but losing her and then her coming back as pretty much a ghost? But he can still touch her and have sex with her? Why not let her be human again? It’s just a bit weird I guess. I don’t know how all of that will effect the rest of the series. I don’t know…I think that part is just a little bit too much out there. It’s a little less believable. But other than that…I did like the story.

Oh and something else I liked was all the allusions to upcoming stories that haven’t been written yet. It makes you look forward to the next book. I really wonder what it’s going to be like for Phury being the Primale. I’m sure that book will make up on sex where this one left us wanting.

I look forward to my next book. I really should know what I have checked out at the library. I’m seriously hoping it’s a good one with a good ending. Sometimes you just need things to work out. A little happiness in a world so full of unknowables.

Rena

Leave a Reply

